Skip to content

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 Time Table

May 26, 2011
ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 Logo

The 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup will be the eleventh ICC Cricket World Cup, and will be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand. The location of the games will be evenly split, with the location of the final yet to be decided. ICC unveiled the Logo of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 after the final of ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 on 2 April 2011.

The hosting rights were awarded at the same time as those of the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup, which New Zealand and Australia had originally bid to host, and the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup was awarded to England. The 2011 tournament was awarded to the four Asian Test cricket playing countries India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in a 10 to 3 vote (although Pakistan subsequently lost its hosting rights due to security concerns). The International Cricket Council were sufficiently impressed with the trans-Tasman bid that it was decided to award the next world cup to them.


Ten test playing nations will participate in the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup, a reduction from previous years that drew heavy criticism from both players and coaches. The decision to exclude the associates taken by the ICC was probably inspired by the commercial disaster during the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup.Two of the nations with the maximum television audience (India and Pakistan) faced defeat at the hands of Bangladesh and Ireland respectively, and failed to qualify for the second round.ICC decided to reconsider the format and the number of teams for 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup after facing protest of Affiliate and Associate members. The Cricket Committee voted in May 2011 to support the calls for a qualification process.


The format for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 has been chosen on the basis of the 1992 World Cup, which was also held in Australia and New Zealand, where all 10 teams will compete in a single round robin with the top 4 teams qualifying for the semi-finals.

The following 10 teams qualified for the final tournament.

 India  Sri Lanka
 Pakistan  New Zealand
 South Africa  Australia
 England  West Indies
 Bangladesh  Zimbabwe



From → Articles

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: